Connect with us


10TH ASSEMBLY: Rep Chinda Emerges Opposition Leader, Ihombvere Majority Leader.

10TH ASSEMBLY: Rep Chinda Emerges Opposition Leader, Ihombvere Majority Leader



As the 10th National Assembly resumed plenary on Tuesday after the Salah holiday, Speaker Tajudeen Abbas has announced the principal officers for the 10th House of Representatives.

Shortly after the inauguration of the 10th national assembly and election of the Speaker and his Deputy, the Speaker constituted some Adhoc Committees to help run the house, pending when the standing committees would be constituted.

The principal officers are yet to be named for the Majority and Minority parties.

Speaker Abbas, who read the letter from the minority caucus, and the All Progressive Congress, said:

“According to the standing rules, that member of the minority party shall nominate the Minority Leader, Deputy Minority Leader, Minority Whip and Deputy Minority Whip, all coming from the minority parties in the House”.

“While for the minority parties, Hon. Kingsley Chinda of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is the Minority Leader, while Deputy Minority Leader is Hon Ozodinobi George of the Labour Party, Minority Whip is Hon.


BREAKING: Senate confirms the body of principal officers as Bamidele, Umahi, and others make the final list

Ali Issa, also of the PDP and Deputy Minority Whip, is Hon. Aliyu Madaki of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

The Speaker also announced Hon. Julius Ihombvere as Majority Leader, Deputy Majority Leader Halims Abdullahi, Chief Whip Bello Kumo, and Deputy Chief Whip – Adewumi Onanuga.

Hon. Onanuga is the only female in the house leadership.

Details shortly.

Click Button Below to Join Our Telegram Groups
WhatsApp Telegram

For Advert Inquiries & News/Article Publishing

Call:+2348033888791, +2347069999005

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.